National News

At work for YOU At work for you
December 5, 2022

2022 BDM Scholarship winners announced!

Toronto – December 5, 2022 – UFCW Canada is proud to announce the winners of this year’s BDM Scholarship Program.

Every year, UFCW Canada offers 18 BDM Scholarships valued at $1,000 each to members and their dependents to help cover the costs of post-secondary education.

Allocated by region across Canada, this renowned union scholarship is named in honour of three past UFCW Canada leaders: William Beggs, Fred Dowling and Roméo Mathieu.

In addition to the UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarships, more than 25 additional Union Scholarships are available to UFCW Canada members, totaling more than $300,000 in value.

As Canada’s leading union for young workers, UFCW Canada is proud to announce the recipients of the 2022 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship, listed below:

Western Region Ontario
Name Local Union Name Local Union
McKenzie Rossdeutscher 1518 Marcus Beis 12R24
Sydney Clermont 247 Chloe Davies 175 & 633
Tim Le 247 Grace Tondreau 175 & 633
Chantelle Gilmour 401 Hailey Schaefer 175 & 633
Madison Duong 401 Seth Johnson 175 & 633
    Taylor Nacevski 1006A
Quebec Atlantic Region
Name Local Union Name Local Union
Ariane Dodier 500 Emma Diamond 1252
Cassandre Leroux-Thomas 500 Mackenzie Watton 1252
Charlie Garcia 500    
Xavier Allard 500    
Mohamed Caouche 1991P    

“I would like to extend my congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients,” says UFCW Canada National President Paul Meinema. “Our union strongly believes that education is a tool that can empower, and that is why UFCW Canada is fully committed to helping members and their families pursue and achieve their educational goals.”

The application process for the 2023 UFCW Canada – BDM Scholarship is now open. Apply for the BDM Scholarship today!

Return to National News Listing
UFCW 247 Instagram Instagram
UFCW 247 acknowledges that our head office is located on the traditional and unceded territory of the Coast Salish Peoples, specifically the Semiahmoo First Nation.